Historische Land der Katharer

Im Mittelalter gab es viel religiöser Dissens und folglich viele religiöse (wie auch territoriale) Kriege, die in den Bau von Befestigungsanlagen und abgelegenen Klöstern führte. Die Region Languedoc war eine Hochburg der Katharer, bis sie an die Albigenser Kreuzfahrer fielen, und es gibt noch viele historische Stätten, die besucht werden können. Die Burgen der Katharer, Chateau d'Aguila, Chateau de Peyrepertuse, Chateau de Puilaurens, Chateau de Quéribus und Chateau de Termes, die auch besichtigt werden kann (einige sind kostenlos!) werden als die 5 Söhne von Carcassonne bekannt, und nach dem Einnahme der Katharer sie wurden verwendet, um die Grenze gegen die Spanier zu verteidigen. Ruinen von anderen Burgen der Katharer mit dem Auto erreichbar sind Montségur, Rennes-le-Chateau, Chateau d'Arques und de Puivert. Rennes-le-Chateau und in der Nähe Rennes-les-Bains, haben natürlich eine neuere Ruhm oder Bekanntheit, aufgrund der Forderungen im späten 19. Jahrhundert der Pfarrer Bérenger Saunière über die Ursprünge der Schatz, der erschien, und der Heilige Gral. Diese Mysterien waren die Grundlage vieler Bestseller Bücher, und in jüngster Zeit unterliegen den Plot von Dan Browns ‘Sakrileg: The Da Vinci Code'. Die Geschichte und das Geheimnis dieser Bereich sind auch als Hintergrund oder Einstellung zu anderen aktuellen Bestsellern: ‘Die Achte Karte' und ‘Das Verlorene Labyrinth' von Kate Mosse und ‘Der Historiker' von Elizabeth Kostova.

Sowohl die Prieure de Serrabone und die Abbeye de St Martin du Canigou sind interessante alte religiöse Institutionen in spektakulären Berg-Einstellungen, die einen Besuch wert sind gesetzt. Es ist nicht möglich, den ganzen Weg in das Auto nach St Martin du Canigou zu fahren: vom Parkplatz aus gibt es entweder einen sehr steilen 45 Minuten zu Fuß (nur für die ganz fit), ansonsten ist es notwendig, einen Jeep, um den Aufstieg komplette zu mieten. Geführte Touren werden von den ansässigen Nonnen durchgeführt.

 

 

In English  En Français  In Nederlands

 

Höhepunkte
  • Eigenes Beheiztes Schwimmbad
  • Klimaanlage
  • Wi-Fi
  • 3 Doppelzimmer - für 6 Personen
  • In der Nähe Mittelmeerstränden
  • Toller Aussicht
  • Ruhige Lage - traditionelle katalanische Dorf
  • Geschäfte und Restaurants zu Fuß erreichbar
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Familienbadezimmer
  • en-suite Duschraum
  • FR und GB Fernsehsender
Lage
Aktuelle Wetterlage
Aktuelle Wetterlage
10°c
leicht bewölkt
Gästekommentare

Perfect perfect perfect ! We took a long time to choose our holiday home this year, following bad experiences in previous years ! Prior to our holiday we found the owners to be friendly, helpful and ...

DD, England

Historical Cathar Country

In the middle ages there was much religious dissent and consequently many religious (as well as territorial) wars, which resulted in the construction of fortifications and remote monasteries. The Languedoc region was a Cathar stronghold, until they fell to the Albigensian crusaders, and there are still many historic sites which may be visited. The Cathar castles, Chateau d'Aguila, Chateau de Peyrepertuse, Chateau de PuilaurensChateau de Queribus and Chateau de Termes, which may be visited (some are free!) are known as the 5 sons of Carcassonne, and after the Cathars fell they were used to defend the border against the Spanish. Other Cathar castle remains within driving distance are at Montsegur, Rennes-le-ChateauChateau d'Arques and de Puivert. Rennes-le-Chateau and nearby Rennes-les-Bains, of course, have a more recent fame, or notoriety, due to the claims in the late 19th century of the priest Berenger Sauniere about the origins of treasure which appeared, and the Holy Grail. These mysteries were the basis of many bestselling books, and most recently underly the plot of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. The history and mystery of this area also feature as the background or setting to other recent best-sellers: Sepulchre and Labyrinth by Kate Mosse and The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

Both the Prieure de Serrabone and the Abbeye de St Martin du Canigou are interesting old religious institutions set in spectacular mountain settings worth visiting. It is not possible to drive all the way to St Martin du Canigou: from the car park there is either a very steep 45 minute walk for the very fit, otherwise it is necessary to hire a jeep to complete the climb. Guided tours

 

 

En Français  Auf Deutsch  In Nederlands

Highlights
  • Private Heated Swimming Pool
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • 3 double bedrooms - sleeps 6
  • Close to Mediterranean Beaches
  • Great Views
  • Quiet Location in Traditional Catalan Village
  • Walking Distance to Shops and Restaurants
  • Family Friendly
  • Family Bathroom
  • En-suite Shower Room
  • UK TV channels
Location
Current Weather
Current Weather
8°c
Partly cloudy
Guest Comments

We stayed in this property for two weeks in June 2010 with two young children. The property was ideal for us and was just as described and shown on the photographs. The property was clean, well mainta ...

JR, Scotland,